SABNP LABORATORY (INSERM U 1204 – Université d’Evry-Val-d’Essonne – Université Paris-Saclay)

Based on a multidisciplinary approach, we explore the dynamics and the structure-function relationships of macromolecular assemblies, notably RNA-protein complexes and microtubules:

Translation regulation

fluo

Stress granule (green) and golgi apparatus (red)

Among postgenomic regulation, translation regulation is of critical importance in mammalian cell biology. Indeed dedicated mRNA-binding proteins are involved in spatio-temporal control of a specific set of proteins by direct binding their mRNA. However how RNA-binding proteins specifically process some transcripts in the cytoplasm remains an open question. This issues is notably relevant in neuron diseases since RNA transport is critical for localized translation in specific neuronal compartments but also in cancer as translation of oncogenes is unregulated to sustain invasiveness and proliferation of cancer cells

Alternative splicing

afm

Protein ARN complex by AFM

Alternative splicing has an essential contribution to the diversity of protein isoforms that are expressed from a limited number of genes. Furthermore alternative splicing is highly regulated and cell type specific. The following projects aim at characterizing splicing factors with known or putative implications in neuronal cell regulations. We will also consider splicing factors implicated in neurons diseases like amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

Microtubules dynamics

patent

A microtubule bench to probe interactions in cells

The understanding of the dynamics of microtubules and the role of their protein partners that regulate the cytoskeleton remains incomplete. A better knowledge will enlighten fundamental processes of critical importance in biology (cell cycle, neurobiology). Indeed, increasing evidence show that minor alteration of cytoskeleton dynamics is accompanied by major cellular effects which opens perspectives in medicine (cancer, neurodegenerative diseases).

Methods and Biotechnologies

We are using original methods and developing new technologies to explore these three topics including :

  1. Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM)rmn2
  2. Fluorescence microscopy
  3. Molecular Dynamics
  4. Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR)

LABORATOIRE SABNP (INSERM U 1204 – Université d’Evry-Val-d’Essonne – Université Paris-Saclay)

En nous basant sur une approche multidisciplinaire, nous explorons la dynamique et la relation structure-fonction des assemblages macromoléculaires, notamment des complexes ARN-protéines et des microtubules :

La régulation de la traduction

fluoParmi la modification post-transcriptionnelle, la régulation de la traduction est d’une importance capitale dans la biologie des cellules de mammifères. En effet, des protéines de liaison à l’ARN messager (ARNm) sont impliquées dans le contrôle spatio-temporel de l’expression d’un ensemble de protéines par interaction directe à leur ARNm respectif. Cependant, comment les protéines liant l’ARNm reconnaissent spécifiquement certains transcrits dans le cytoplasme reste une question sans réponse. Cette question est particulièrement pertinente pour les maladies neuronales car le transport d’ARNm est un support essentiel pour la traduction localisée des protéines dans les différents compartiments des neurones (synapse, axone, etc…) mais aussi dans le cadre du cancer car la traduction des oncogènes permet la prolifération des cellules cancéreuses.

L’épissage alternatif

afmL’épissage alternatif contribue de manière essentielle à la diversité des isoformes de protéines qui sont exprimés à partir d’un nombre limité de gènes. En outre l’épissage alternatif est finement régulé et est spécifique du type cellulaire (neurones, muscles, etc…). Les points que nous développerons visent à caractériser les facteurs d’épissage participant à des fonctions neuronales. Nous allons également expliquer comment certains facteurs d’épissage sont impliqués dans les maladies neuronales comme la sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA).

La dynamique Microtubules

patent

La compréhension de la dynamique des microtubules et du rôle de ses partenaires protéiques reste incomplète. Une meilleure connaissance dans ce domaine permettra un nouvel éclairage des processus fondamentaux ayant une importance cruciale en biologie (cycle cellulaire, neurobiologie). En effet, nous savons que des modifications mineures de la dynamique du cytosquelette sont accompagnées d’effets cellulaires majeurs, comme le montre le cycle cellulaire et le transport dans les neurones, ce qui ouvre la porte à la découverte de nouvelles cibles pour le cancer et les maladies neuro-dégénératives

Biotechnologie

Les méthodes et les technologies développées pour explorer ces trois sujets seront aussi abordées : rmn2

  1. Microscopie de Force Atomique (AFM)
  2. Microscopie de fluorescence
  3. Dynamique moléculaire
  4. Résonance magnétique nucléaire (RMN)